Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Upgraded fuel system to return style - Can unit be reset to start over?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Hadlock, WA
    Posts
    4

    Default Upgraded fuel system to return style - Can unit be reset to start over?

    Builder put car together with a returnless system, and had many problems before driving car 3000 miles home. Removed external pump(s), upgraded to Aeromotive Stealth tank, and added MSD return kit with regulator. Now coming to stop sign, the car does not want to idle. It won't die, but feels like it's going to. Can I reset the system to learn it's new system? No error codes, and runs well under power. Stroked 440, 4 speed, 500 ish HP. Feeling like I need to just reset and start over.... Help?

  2. #2

    Default

    Reset https://forums.msdperformance.com/sh...eset-Procedure

    Provide all your settings readings including IAC reading at hot idle.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Hadlock, WA
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Last edited by willstoy; 06-18-2018 at 11:26 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    955

    Default

    The IAC reading at hot idle is the requested parameter.
    Regards

    Gary

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Hadlock, WA
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Forgive me as I am pretty new to forum use in general and this EFI system.....
    This is probably what you wanted... Sorry about that.
    IMG_13AAA17E235F-1.jpeg
    So from what I've seen this is supposed to be 10-20 correct?

    Appreciate your time....
    Last edited by willstoy; 06-20-2018 at 08:54 AM.

  6. #6

    Default

    from msd atomic install manual:

    This count will range from 0 175 and at idle, a rule of thumb would be 10 - 20 with a manual transmission and 5-15 in gear with an automatic (less is ok, even 0). -- zero can be ok

    If the count is too high, the IAC is trying to open too much and the blades should be opened to help
    with additional air flow at idle.

    i thought i read that those IAC number are supposed to be checked with engine at op temp and car in Drive with brake applied -- basically a two-person job. i adjusted my 440cu in that manner. i have a stock 440cu in a 66 Coronet with a 727

    what cam setting do you have? i have mine set to stock.


    fuel pressure looks good - mine is set to 60psi and holds steady. i'm running an in-tank pump and return line; the atomic is controlling timing also



    i'll post some pics of my 440 settings - again, a stock 440



    watermelon
    Last edited by watermelon; 06-26-2018 at 10:39 PM. Reason: n/a

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    955

    Default

    Is your last screen shot with engine running?
    Are you using timing control?
    Regards

    Gary

  8. #8

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    955

    Default

    Can you turn the pics around, so we can read them?
    Regards

    Gary

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •